Dear Trans Women: Part 1, by Judith Bell

I’ve often wanted to do a post on discrimination versus systemic oppression, but Judith Bell nails it in this amazing post. If trans women only read one post in its entirety by a gender-critical feminist, I hope it’s this one.

Highlights:

“I, a woman, can speak with unwavering authority on the topics of sex as it pertains to women, gender as it pertains to women, womanhood, the female experience, and feminism. I can speak with authority on my own oppression. I can speak with authority on the patriarchy and its abuses. More importantly, you cannot.”

“You cannot be a woman, because femaleness is a bodily experience. Conversely, femininity is a cultural experience.”

“Women are expected to do free domestic labor, free sexual labor, free reproductive labor, and free emotional labor as a matter of course…”

One thought on “Dear Trans Women: Part 1, by Judith Bell

  1. Judith Bell’s post clarified for me why I feel such anger toward my “transgendered” husband. He has turned me into a body–he has embraced the idea that my worth and the qualities of woman are determined by my female body. I believed all these years that he was seeing me as a person–a female person, to be sure, but an individual with the same status and rights as he has. Now, however, his idea of female and woman, the one he’s embraced for himself, is the most misogynistic definition of womanhood: to be available and accessible (or, as Sharon has written in another post, to be a “fuckable object.” It’s breathtaking, the damage the embrace and championing of this idea does to actual women.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

