Persecution versus Contradiction

“Let me never fall into the vulgar mistake of dreaming that I am persecuted whenever I am contradicted.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

One thought on “Persecution versus Contradiction

  1. There are great advantages to being a marginalized person. I never dream that anyone agrees with me, and it would never occur to me that disagreement equals persecution. I was an oddball in elementary school, and nothing changed in junior or senior high school (my entire family were the oddballs in our neighborhood), and nothing changed in any of my workplaces. This expectation that everyone should agree with you! How bizarre and out of touch with reality! And then you think everyone should be busy confirming your identity!

    No wonder the trans supporters cannot even bear a straightforward question such as “Do you know what cross-sex hormones do to the body?” I have found that my liberal, bourgeois acquaintances expect TOTAL agreement ALL the time. Even when they’re lying (see Elizabeth West’s piece on Counterpunch stating that men putting on dresses to access women’s spaces beggars belief).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

